Not logged in - Login

Settings \ Permission Groups

Nav Menu » Settings \ Permission Groups

1. From the Nav Menu on the left-hand side of the screen, select the Settings icon (it looks like 3 gears), then from the menu select Permission Groups. You are now on the Permission Groups screen. From here, you can Add, Edit and Delete Permission Groups as well as assign Permissions.

  • Basic Users (by default) could have Permissions to View and Create but NOT Update everything. Members of this group usually View and Add Cases, Persons and Items, basically adding evidence and printing reports.
  • Power Users (by default) could have Permissions to View, Create, and Update everything. Members of this group usually perform transactions like Check in, out, dispose, and transfer.
  • Read-Only Users (by default) could have Permissions to View, but NOT Create and Update everything. Members of this group can Only View Cases, Items and People in the Office they’re assigned to. However, they can View Everything!

The last Permission Group which is not listed (or even shown) is the Org Admin Permission Group.

The Org Admin Permission Group is the only Permission Group which has all Permissions and is allowed to access all of the sections in the Settings area of the software. An Org Admin is an Administrator of your entire Site. They have access to everything as well as the ability to create Offices, assign Permissions, create Custom Forms, Add/Disable Users, create User Groups, create Reports etc.

2. To Add a Permission Group, click the Add box. The Add Group screen will then appear.

Give the Group you want to add a Required Name. You may also wish to give it a description.


3. To Edit an existing Permission Group, click the Edit box of the group you wish to Edit. This will take you to the Edit Group screen.

This example shows the Permission Group: Read Only. You may edit their information, such as changing their Name or Description here.


4. To change Permissions of a Permission Group, click Permissions of the Permission Group you would like to change. Then change the permissions of the Permission Group you chose by checking or unchecking the boxes next to the Name of the Item you would like to change. As shown below, the default settings for all Permission Groups including the Basic User group don’t include Auto Dispositions and Discrepancy Reports. You may grant these Permissions if appropriate.


5. To Delete an existing Permission Group (if the Delete box has not been grayed out, indicating that Permission Group has already been used inside of SAFE), click the Delete box of the group you wish to Delete. This will take you to the Delete Group screen.

If you are completely sure you want to proceed, click Ok and the Security Group will be deleted.